Information for students

Want to work on an open-source project with other students from across the country—for credit? UCOSP gives you this opportunity.

What’s in it for me?

  • Experience: learn about open source software development and how to work together with a team that’s geographically distributed.
  • Credit: Given to to you by your home university, typically as part of a capstone course.
  • A chance to meet and work with students from all across Canada.
  • A job? UCOSP puts you in contact with many people in the software industry, many of whom might be able to hire you.

What projects can I work on?

Have a look at the Projects page.

This sounds cool! How do I apply?

We ask that you get in touch with your UCOSP faculty contact. These are listed in the table below.

Stefan D. Bruda Bishop’s University stefan@bruda.ca
David Hughes Brock University dhughes@brocku.ca
Derek Reilly Dalhousie University reilly@cs.dal.ca
Aaron Langille Laurentian University alangille@cs.laurentian.ca
Olivier Gendreau Polytechnique Montréal olivier.gendreau@polymtl.ca
Brian Fraser Simon Fraser University bfraser@sfu.ca
Robert Mercer The University of Western Ontario mercer@csd.uwo.ca
Faheem Ahmed Thompson Rivers University fahmed@tru.ca
Kevin O’Neil Thompson Rivers University koneil@tru.ca
Marc Frappier Université de Sherbrooke marc.frappier@usherbrooke.ca
Eleni Stroulia University of Alberta stroulia@ualberta.ca
Meghan Allen University of British Columbia meghana@cs.ubc.ca
Robert Walker University of Calgary walker@ucalgary.ca
Greg Klotz University of Guelph gklotz@uoguelph.ca
Stefan Kremer University of Guelph skremer@uoguelph.ca
Rasit Eskicioglu University of Manitoba Rasit.Eskicioglu@cs.umanitoba.ca
Przemyslaw Pochec University of New Brunswick pochec@unb.ca
Timothy Lethbridge University of Ottawa tcl@eecs.uottawa.ca
Amy Felty University of Ottawa afelty@eecs.uottawa.ca
Daryl Hepting University of Regina hepting@cs,uregina.ca
Chanchal Roy University of Saskatchewan chanchal.roy@usask.ca
Andrew Petersen University of Toronto Mississauga andrew.petersen@utoronto.ca
Byron Weber Becker University of Waterloo bwbecker@cs.uwaterloo.ca
Angele Hamel Wilfrid Laurier University ahamel@wlu.ca
Bil Tzerpos York University bil@yorku.ca

 

More questions

If your questions aren’t addressed above, see our general information page, the FAQ or get in touch by email.